The Victorian Premier’s Design Awards Round Two Jury has been announced with 12 Jury Members joining the Round One Jury Panel. Collectively, the 43 esteemed members of the Jury will determine which projects go on to receive the Victorian Premier’s Design Award Best in Category Award and coveted, Victorian Premier’s Design Award of the Year for 2020.

Among the esteemed Jury Panel is Peter Elliott from Peter Elliott Architecture and Urban Design who received the 2019 Victorian Premier’s Design Award of the Year for the Parliament of Victoria Member’s Annexe.

Peter is currently a Senior Research Fellow and Adjunct Professor at the Faculty of Art Design & Architecture at Monash University and in 2015, was awarded a Doctor of Architecture honoris causa by the University of Melbourne. He has a special interest in the design of the public realm and has lectured and written extensively on contemporary architecture and urban design. In 2015 he authored a monograph book titled “Episodic Urbanism – RMIT Urban Spaces Project 1996 – 2015’ published by URO Publications.

Grace Lillian Lee also joins the Second Round Jury representing the Fashion Design Category. Grace is the founder of First Nations Fashion and Design and is a graduate of RMIT University with Honours in Fashion Design. Grace has established herself as one of Australia’s leading Indigenous artist and designer with works collected by National Gallery of Victoria, Museum of Applied Arts and Sciences, Art Gallery of South Australia, Cairns Art Gallery, Australian Institute of Aboriginal Torres Strait Islander Studies and Kluge-Ruhe University of Virginia.

Brining a sustainability lens to the Second Round Jury, John Gertsakis is an experienced sustainability, policy and communications practitioner working across diverse industries, sectors and portfolios. John has served as Executive Director of Product Stewardship Australia representing global consumer electronics brands in the design of the Commonwealth Product Stewardship Act. Among other roles, John is an Adjunct Professor with the Institute for Sustainable Futures at UTS and Senior Policy Adviser to the Design Institute of Australia.

Entries in the Victorian Premier’s Design Awards are judged by an eminent panel of national and international design experts that represent the diverse range of design disciplines showcased by the awards. The first stage evaluation is conducted online and involves Australian and international jury members who evaluate entries against the Judging Criteria in their designated category.

Successful entries at this level are designated Finalists in the Victorian Premier’s Design Awards and qualify for further evaluation in the Second Round.

The second stage of the evaluation process involves a smaller selection of judges who meet in-person to evaluate the Finalists and determine which projects go on to receive the Victorian Premier’s Design Award Highly Commended, Victorian Premier’s Design Award Best in Category Award and the coveted Victorian Premier’s Design Award of the Year.

The Full list of Second Round Jury Members (in no particular order) include:

Peter Elliott, Peter Elliott Architecture + Urban Design

Jefa Greenaway, Greenaway Architects & Indigenous Architecture and Design Victoria

Melinda Coombes, Coowhi Design

Joanne Osbourne-Taylor, Portable

Sam Mackisack, Today

Leila Naja Hibri, Australian Fashion Council

Grace Lillian Lee, First Nations Fashion Design

John Gertsakis, Ewaste Watch Institute

Jon Christensen, Future Friendly

Professor Arthur de Bono, Monash University

Andrea Ciotto, Osteon Medical

Richard Hoare, Breville Group


The Entry Deadline for this year’s Victorian Premier’s Design Awards has been extended to Friday 2 October 2020.



Pictured Above (L-R): John Gertsakis, Peter Elliott, Grace Lillian Lee.

More News