An extension to Victoria’s Parliament House, a typeface designed to help learning and a fashion label driven by sustainability are among the winners of the 2019 Victorian Premier’s Design Awards.

The Parliament of Victoria’s new Members’ Annexe in Melbourne scooped the Architecture category and was named overall Design of the Year by the expert panel of 27 independent judges, out of a field of more than 200 projects.

Parliament House is one of Melbourne’s most important public buildings, built in several stages from 1856. Previously described as an ‘unfinished masterpiece’, it needed more space to support the daily workings of parliament.

Designed by Melbourne firm Peter Elliott Architecture + Urban Design with TCL, the new contemporary freestanding annexe building has been built within the eastern gardens to provide space for 102 members of parliament.

Other winners this year include Sans Forgetica, a font believed to be the world’s first typeface designed using principles of psychology to retain information; Pivot, an online tool to help young people in South West Victoria find career opportunities; and A.BCH – a fashion label where all designs are made for sustainability.

The annual Victorian Premier’s Design Awards celebrate the state’s best designers and innovators across architectural, product and industrial, communications, fashion, digital and service design, design strategy, and two student design categories.

For the full list of winners and more details, visit www.premiersdesignawards.com.au

Quotes attributable to Minister for Creative Industries Martin Foley

“This year’s Victorian Premier’s Design Award shows how important Design can be to a future where quality design thinking is at the heart of all we do. The winners demonstrate the power and impact of design across all industries and parts of life.”

“Congratulations to the architects, designers and teams behind the winning projects – and to the client organisations and businesses that recognise the value of design.”

Quote attributable to Chair of the Victorian Premier’s Design Awards Jury Celina Clarke

“The winning entries are world-class examples of design and architectural excellence originating from Victoria and reinforce the state’s commitment to leading by design.”


Victorian Premier’s Design Award of the Year: Parliament of Victoria Member’s Annexe

Best in Category Winner for Architectural Design: Parliament of Victoria Member’s Annexe

Best in Category Winner for Communication Design: Sans Forgetica

Best in Category Winner for Design Strategy: Moonee Ponds Creek Strategic Opportunities Plan

Best in Category Winner for Digital Design: Pivot

Best in Category Winner for Fashion Design: A.BCH – A Circular Fashion Label

Best in Category Winner for Product Design: Spector

Best in Category Winner for Service Design: Justice Connect Gateway Project

Best in Category Winner for Student Design: Gecko Traxx

VCE Product Design Student: Inclusive Classroom Furniture


Highly Commended for Design Strategy: Marngo Designing Futures

Highly Commended for Digital Design: Victoria University App

Highly Commended for Student Design: Riza

Highly Commended for Student Design: ROOD


High-resolution images of Winners and Finalists available for download here.

View and download photos from the 2019 Victorian Premier’s Design Awards Ceremony here

More News