Roy is Emeritus Professor and Chair of the Innovation Council at the University of Technology Sydney. His doctorate is from the University of Cambridge and he has published widely in the areas of innovation policy and management, including projects with the OECD and European Commission.

Roy has worked in universities, business and government in Australia and overseas, most recently as Dean of the UTS Business School. He chaired the Australian Government’s Innovative Regions Centre, CSIRO Manufacturing Sector Advisory Council, NSW Manufacturing Industries Advisory Council and Queensland Competition Authority, and has participated in a range of industry reviews, including the 2015 Senate innovation system inquiry.

Currently, Roy chairs the Port of Newcastle and the Advanced Robotics for Manufacturing Hub and is a board member of the Innovative Manufacturing Cooperative Research Centre.