How to Enter

If you have an innovative design project you believe is worthy of recognition, then we want to hear from you. 

Please review the Timeline, Eligibility Criteria and Fees below before submitting your entry to the Australian Good Design Awards.

  • Timeline
  • Australian Design Prize
  • Good Design Team of the Year Award
  • Michael Bryce Patron's Award
  • Women in Design Award
  • Indigenous Design Award
  • Powerhouse Design Award
  • Entries Open Fri 20 February 2023

    Early Bird Deadline Fri 17 March 2023

    Entries Close Fri 14 April 2023

    Judging May to July 2023

    Ceremony Fri 29 September 2023


  • The Australian Design Prize was established to recognise individual designers who are making or have made, a significant impact in Australian design over the course of their career.


    2022 – Robert Pataki OAM
    2021 – Ros and John Moriarty
    2020 – Michael J.S. Bryce AM AE KStJ
    2019 – Mark Armstrong
    2018 – Paul Schremmer
    2018 – Carl Nielsen (Awarded Posthumously)

  • The Good Design Team of the Year Award is a special honour bestowed annually to a design team who consistently performs at the highest level in the annual Australian Good Design Awards and has made a positive and tangible impact in establishing and maintaining a design-led culture within their organisation.

    The Award aims to inspire companies to build and maintain a design-led culture throughout the organisation.


    • Evidence that the organisation is design-led from the CEO down and that design forms part of the DNA of the organisation.
    • The Design Team has cultivated a culture of creativity and leadership where everyone in the organisation is inspired and influenced by the power of design.
    • The Design Team is consistently recognised in the annual Australian Good Design Awards and other credible international design award programs.


    2022 – Meld Studios
    2021 – Blackmagic Design Team
    2020 – Design + Industry
    2019 – Caroma Design Team
    2018 – Breville Design Team

  • The Michael Bryce Patron’s Award is presented annually by the Patron of Good Design Australia.

    The Award recognises and celebrates the best Australian designed product, service or project in the annual Australian Good Design Awards and is awarded to an entry that has the potential to shape the future economic, social, cultural and environmental aspects of our planet.

    The Michael Bryce Patron’s Award honours Good Design Australia’s inaugural Patron, the late Michael J.S. Bryce AM AE KStJ to recognise the enormous contribution he made to Good Design Australia and to the Australian design community over the course of his career. We hope this Award will ensure his legacy continues to be recognised in perpetuity through the annual Australian Good Design Awards.


    2022 – Groote Archipelago Housing Programme
    2021 – LAVO Green Energy Hydrogen Battery
    2020 – ellume.lab
    2019 – Sans Forgetica
    2018 – NurseWatch
    2017 – Sofia 2
    2016 – The Safety Compass
    2015 – Transportable Building Collapse Training Simulator  (Joint Winner)
    2015 – High Resolves  (Joint Winner)
    2014 – Community Centred Innovation: co-designing for disaster preparedness
    2013 – Quicklay Fire Attack Pack
    2012 – MineLab F3 Compact Metal Detector

  • The Women in Design Award was established in response to the significant gender imbalance within leadership roles in the design industry.

    This award seeks to recognise and celebrate women who have made significant contributions to the industry and hopes to encourage a more diverse and equal representation within leadership roles and in the design and creative industries in general.

    There is no cost to nominate and nominators can submit more than one nomination.


    • Nominees must be Australian citizens or women working and living in Australia.
    • Nominations are also open to Australian women currently working overseas.


    2022 – Leah Heiss, Melbourne-based designer and Monash University academic

    2021 – Simon LeAmon, Hugh D.T Williamson Curator of Contemporary Design and Architecture, National
    Gallery of Victoria

    2020 – Mia Feasey, Founder and CEO of Siren Design

    2019 – Sharon Gauci, Executive Director at General Motors and the first Australian woman to hold this position

  • The Indigenous Design Award is proudly presented by RMIT University and recognises and celebrates the important contribution that Australia’s Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander designers make to Australian Design across the spectrum of design disciplines and practice.

    This award welcomes nominations of Indigenous individuals as well as projects where at least one member of the design team identifies as Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander.

    RMIT and Indigenous Community representatives evaluate nominated submissions and select the overall winner for the Award based on specific evaluation criteria.


    2022 – Yalinguth: Can You Hear the Land
    2021 – Kevin ‘Uncle Gavi’ Duncan with Turf Design Studio for Gosford Leagues Club Park
    2020 – Deadly Allstars Healing Garden Co-Design
    2020 – David Unaipon (Awarded Posthumously)
    2019 – Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Career Pathways Service
    2018 – Australian Indigenous Design Charter

    Yalinguth: Can You Hear the Land - Winners of the 2022 Indigenous Design Award
  • The Powerhouse Design Award is chosen from the annual Australian Good Design Awards and the criteria includes good design, innovation and the significance of a design to Australia’s culture. The Award is given to a project that has potential to make a significant improvement to the quality of health, wellbeing or the environment. This Award recognises the important role of design in harnessing the challenges of science and technology to make a positive impact on our lives.

    Powerhouse has proudly recognised excellence in Australian design as part of the annual Australian Good Design Awards since 1992.


    2022 – Parramatta Escarpment Boardwalk
    2021 – Ceres Tag – Animal Monitoring Technology
    2020 – Rapid Shield
    2019 – RangerBot
    2018 – Fashion Revolution Australia
    2017 – BES Rehab EXOFLEX Hand Therapy and Assessment Device
    2016 – Sydney Park Water Re-Use Project

  • Good Design Australia’s Automotive Design Award is a special accolade within the Automotive and Transport Category to recognise excellence in automotive design and styling.

    Vehicles entered into the Automotive and Transport Category in the annual Good Design Awards will also be considered for the Best Exterior Design Award and Best Interior Design Award as part of the jury process.


    • Form
    • Function
    • Visual impact and appeal
    • Design detail

    Exterior Criteria

    • All round visibility
    • Pedestrian considerations and safety
    • Ease of driver maintenance and cleaning
    • Predicted durability and material choice

    Interior Criteria

    • Ease of entry and egress
    • Seating and adjustability
    • Control location and ergonomics
    • Control feel and function
    • Predicted durability and material choice
    • Luggage capacity and security


    Best Exterior Design – Hyundai i30 Sedan N 

    Best Interior Design – Genesis GV60

    Best Exterior Design – GMC Hummer EV 

    Best Interior Design – Hyundai IONIQ 5

    Best Exterior Design – Fonzarelli NKD

    Best Interior Design – VLocity VL80  Passenger Train

    Best Exterior Design – Alpine A110

    Best Interior Design – Tesla Model 3

    Best Exterior Design – Lexus LC Coupe

    Best Interior Design – Volvo XC60